Channel: Oh No They Didn't!
Viewing all articles
Browse latest Browse all 142230

2013 Independent Spirit Award Winners


The best of the best in small-budget filmmaking were in the spotlight on Feb. 23, just a day before the Oscars. Did your favorite ‘little engine that could’ get the recognition it deserved? See all the winners — and losers — below.

The Independent Spirit Awards are for the little guys — the independent films. They honor all those indie movies that can be just as amazing as the best blockbusters around. Some of the best in the biz were up for Spirit awards — but only a select few took them home. The show starts at 1:30 pm PST and airs on IFC tonight, Feb. 23 at 10 pm ET. See the winners from the ceremony below, which will be updated as the show goes on.

Best First Screenplay– Derek Connolly, Safety Not Guaranteed

Best First Feature– Stephen Chbosky, The Perks Of Being A Wallflower

Best Supporting Male Performance– Matthew McConaughey, Magic Mike

Robert Altman Award for Cast Ensemble– Starlet

Piaget Producers Award– Mynette Louie, Stones in the Sun

Best International Film - Michael Haneke, Amour

John Cassavetes Award for Under $500,000– Middle of Nowhere

Best Supporting Female Performance - Helen Hunt, The Sessions

Best Cinematography– Ben Richardson, Beasts of the Southern Wild

Best Screenplay– David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook

Best Female Lead Performance - Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook

Best Male Lead Performance - John Hawkes, Battery Dying

Best Feature Film– Silver Linings Playbook


Viewing all articles
Browse latest Browse all 142230

Latest Images

Trending Articles

Latest Images